Jefferson Award Winner: Kyle Zimmer, First Book

June 10, 2016 by mitchellcohen

Kyle Zimmer, President and CEO of First Book

Each year since 1973, the Jefferson Awards Foundation has recognized astounding public servants with the Jefferson Award for Outstanding Public Service Benefitting the Disadvantaged. Past recipients include Betty Ford, Eunice Shriver, Arthur Ashe, and Bill & Melinda Gates. 

Kyle Zimmer is this year’s Jefferson Award recipient for Outstanding Public Service Benefitting the Disadvantaged 

More than 20 years ago, Kyle Zimmer worked with two friends to launch First Book, a market-driven social enterprise that elevates equal education by providing schools and community programs serving children from low-income families with a steady supply of new, high-quality books. First Book’s groundbreaking models − which have now provided more than 145 million books − include the First Book National Book Bank, the nation’s largest clearinghouse for new books donated by publishers, and the First Book Marketplace, an award-winning, e-commerce site that provides, books, educational resources, and essential needs to educators and program leaders at unprecedented prices. First Book works with more than 250,000 schools and programs serving children in need – and growing, the largest and fastest growing network of its kind across the U.S., Canada, and now, expanding globally. First Book is piloting a range of new initiatives from teacher resources to research to nonprofit logistics. Kyle serves on the Boards of Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L .P., Ashoka and the World Economic Forum’s Global Council on Values. Her awards include the Library of Congress David M. Rubenstein Prize (2015), the National Book Foundation’s Literarian Award (2014), and the National Education Association Foundation’s Award for Outstanding Service to Public Education (2013).

Click here to purchase tickets to our National Ceremony in Washington, DC on June 16th.

Bookmark and Share